Marketing ROI, what does it really mean?

In times of economic slowdown, one thing seems to come out on top – Return on Investment. For me marketing is like a new business venture, and all a brand should really be interested in is Risk & Return.

In the marketing boardroom it is often difficult to find the balance between cost effectiveness and creativity. I find that brand managers & agency professionals use the term ROI like it has been calculated. When I first started working, I was expecting to get a financial breakdown – not a budget, not reconciliation, an actual return on investment in the form of a cost benefit analysis, where the benefits are the objectives achieved and cost of each medium/campaign implemented carefully evaluated, including risk factors and external environmental influences. It reminded me of an equation in Finance – developing a diversified asset portfolio.

I read an interesting article this morning – sharper senses 5p’s of digital marketing – I hate the P’s in marketing, cant they use a different letter? – regardless this i found worth posting, as it is a brilliant example of how Google treats marketing as a business reducing risk and increasing ways to calculate return on investment in a more tangible manner.

I am not entirely done with this post, but as the word goes, if I do not post it now it will once again simply get lost in the folder of “to post articles” filling up my hard drive every day….

READ THE FULL ARTICLE HERE

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

